
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR MANDATORY DUTY TO REPORT 

Introduction 

As a Delaware-licensed healthcare provider, you have mandatory duties to report under Delaware law. The purpose of 
this information sheet is to explain the mandatory duties to report that apply to your profession.  

To apply for a license or to renew a license with the Delaware Division of Professional Regulation, you will be required to 
certify that you understand each mandatory duty to report explained below.  Note that, when appropriate, the Division may 
keep your identity confidential. 

Mandatory Duty to Report Healthcare Practitioners   

Delaware law mandates you to report any healthcare practitioner – including (but not limited to) any practitioner certified 
and registered to practice medicine in Delaware or licensed by the Board of Clinical Social Work Examiners – when you 
reasonably believe that the practitioner  

• has engaged, or is engaging, in conduct that would constitute grounds of discipline under their licensing laws, or 
• may be unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety to the public by reason of mental illness or mental 

incompetence, physical illness (including deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skill), or 
excessive abuse of drugs (including alcohol). 

You must file your report with the Division within 30 days of becoming aware of the information.  For information on filing a 
report, go to the Division’s website at www.dpr.delaware.gov – click File a Complaint, then click Report Healthcare 
Provider. 

The law allows the Division to keep your identity confidential.  It also affords immunity from civil or criminal prosecution for 
good faith reporting. The law imposes a $10,000-$50,000 fine for failure to report a medical practitioner.   

The sections of Delaware law that explain these duties are 24 Del. C. §3919, 24 Del. C. §1730, 24 Del. C. §1731 and 24 
Del. C. §1731A. 

Mandatory Duty to Report Child Abuse 

Delaware law also mandates you to make an immediate oral report to the Department of Services for Children, Youth and 
Their Families when you know of, or suspect, child abuse or neglect under Chapter 9 of Title 16 of the Delaware Code 
and to follow up with any requested written reports (16 Del. C. §903).  

You may report child abuse or neglect by calling the Department’s 24-hour child abuse and neglect hotline at (800) 292-
9582. The Department will notify the Division of Professional Regulation of child abuse allegations. 

Mandatory Duty to Report Colleagues 

Your Board’s Rules and Regulations require you to report a colleague's impairment, incompetence or unethical conduct 
when the colleague fails to address the problem or when a client's welfare appears to be in danger (Section 9.3.5). 

For information on filing a report, go to the Division’s website at www.dpr.delaware.gov – click File a Complaint, then click 
Report Healthcare Provider. 
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