DL\FIS]O;I OF
PROFESSIONAL
REGULATION

DEPARTMENT OF STATE

u\““\ﬁa P?.GFESSIUM srﬂﬂms =
\ * oy {

TELEPHONE: (302) 744-4500
CANNON BUILDING STATE OF DELAWARE FAX: E302§ 739-2711
861 SILVER LAKE BLVD., SUITE 203 ’

DoVER, DELAWARE 19904-2467

BOARD OF NURSING WEBSITE: DPR.DELAWARE.GOV
EMAIL: customerservice.dpr@state.de.us

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR MANDATORY DUTY TO REPORT

Introduction

As a Delaware-licensed healthcare provider, you have mandatory duties to report under Delaware law. The purpose of
this information sheet is to explain the mandatory duties to report that apply to your profession.

To renew your license, you will be required to certify that you understand each mandatory duty to report explained below.
Note that, when appropriate, the Division may keep your identity confidential.

Mandatory Duty to Report Medical Practitioners

Delaware law mandates you to report a medical practitioner when you reasonably believe that the practitioner is (or may
be) guilty of unprofessional conduct or unfit to practice (24 Del. C. 81731A). The term medical practitioner means anyone
who is licensed by the Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline, including physicians, physician assistants, respiratory
practitioners, acupuncture practitioners, and genetic counselors. Unprofessional conduct is explained in 24 Del. C.
81731.

You must file your report with the Division of Professional Regulation within 30 days of becoming aware of the information.
The law imposes a $10,000-$50,000 fine for non-compliance (24 Del. C. 1731A (i)). For information on filing a report, go
to the Division’s website at https://dpr.delaware.gov/ and click File a Complaint.

The law allows the Division to keep your identity confidential. It also affords immunity from civil or criminal prosecution for
good faith reporting (24 Del. C. 1731A (q)).

Mandatory Duty to Report Child Abuse

Delaware law also mandates you to make an immediate oral report to the Department of Services for Children, Youth and
Their Families when you know of, or suspect, child abuse or neglect under Chapter 9 of Title 16 of the Delaware Code
and to follow up with any requested written reports (16 Del. C. §903).

You may report child abuse or neglect by calling the Department’s 24-hour child abuse and neglect hotline at
(800) 292-9582.

The Department will notify the Division of Professional Regulation of child abuse allegations.
Mandatory Duty to Report Unsafe Nursing Practice or Conditions

Your Board’s Rules and Regulations require you to report any unsafe nursing practice to the Board of Nursing and to
report any unsafe practice conditions to the recognized legal authorities (Section 7.3.1.6).

You must file your report with the Division of Professional Regulation. For information on filing a report of unsafe Nursing
practice, go to the Division’s website at https://dpr.delaware.gov/ and click File a Complaint.
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Mandatory Duty to Self Report

Delaware law (24 Del. C. 81930A) mandates you to self report any of the following within 30 days:

e Arrest, indictment or information charging you with a crime substantially related to the practice of nursing

e Conviction, including any verdict of guilty or plea of guilty or no contest, of any crime substantially related to the
practice of nursing.

Crimes substantially related to the practice of nursing are defined in Section 15.0 of the Board’s Rules and Reqgulations.
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