

CANNON BUILDING 861 SILVER LAKE BLVD., SUITE 203 DOVER, DELAWARE 19904-2467

STATE OF DELAWARE BOARD OF DENTISTRY AND DENTAL HYGIENE TELEPHONE: (302) 744-4500 FAX: (302) 739-2711 WEBSITE: <u>DPR.DELAWARE.GOV</u> EMAIL: customerservice.dpr@state.de.us

# IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR MANDATORY DUTY TO REPORT

# Introduction

As a Delaware-licensed healthcare provider, you have mandatory duties to report under Delaware law. The purpose of this information sheet is to explain the mandatory duties to report that apply to your profession.

When applying for or renewing a license, you will be required to certify that you understand each mandatory duty to report explained below. Note that, when appropriate, the Division may keep your identity confidential.

# Mandatory Duty to Report Other Practitioners

Delaware law (<u>24 Del. C. §1131A</u>) mandates you to report any dental or dental hygiene practitioner **or** any other healthcare practitioner, including a medical practitioner, when you reasonably believe that the practitioner

- has engaged in or is engaging in conduct that would constitute grounds for disciplinary action under the healthcare provider's licensing statute, or
- may be unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety to the public due to mental illness or mental incompetence, physical illness (including deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skill), or excessive abuse of drugs (including alcohol).

You must file your report with the Division of Professional Regulation within 30 days of becoming aware of the information. For instructions on filing a report, go to the Division's website at <u>www.dpr.delaware.gov</u> and click *File a Complaint*.

The law affords immunity from civil or criminal prosecution for good faith reporting (24 Del. C. 1131A (d)).

The term 'medical practitioner' includes physicians, physician assistants, respiratory practitioners, acupuncture practitioners, genetic counselors and polysomnographers. The law imposes a \$10,000-\$50,000 fine for failure to report a medical practitioner (24 Del. C. 1731A (i)).

### Mandatory Duty to Report Child Abuse

Delaware law also *mandates* you to make an immediate oral report to the Department of Services for Children, Youth and Their Families when you know of, or suspect, child abuse or neglect under Chapter 9 of Title 16 of the *Delaware Code* and to follow up with any requested written reports (<u>16 *Del. C.* §903</u>).

You may report child abuse or neglect by calling the Department's 24-hour child abuse and neglect hotline at (800) 292-9582.

The Department will notify the Division of Professional Regulation of child abuse allegations.

### Mandatory Duty to Self Report

Delaware law (24 Del. C. §1131) mandates you to self report any of the following within 30 days:

- Arrest, indictment or information charging you with a crime substantially related to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene
- Conviction, including any verdict of guilty or plea of guilty or no contest, of any crime substantially related to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene

Crimes substantially related to the practice or dentistry and dental hygiene are defined in Section 11.0 of the Board's Rules and Regulations.